Plettenberg Bay Newcomers take Best Producer Award at Amorim Cap Classique Challenge

Plettenberg Bay winery Newstead Wines has become the first producer outside of the traditional Western Cape winelands to be crowned overall winner of the Amorim Cap Classique Challenge, South Africa’s leading competition focussed exclusively on selecting the country’s top Cap Classique sparkling wines. In a ground-breaking announcement, Newstead MCC Blanc de Blancs 2015 not only took a Double Gold Medal and the Trophy for Best Blanc de Blancs, but was also named the Top Scoring Cap Classique at this year’s Amorim Challenge.

This is the 19th consecutive year the Amorim Cap Classique Challenge was held, an event sponsored by the synonymous cork producer that is this year celebrating 150 years of crafting cork stoppers for the international wine industry. Some 121 entries were received for this year’s competition.

Speaking at this year’s Amorim Cap Classique Challenge awards’ ceremony held in Franschhoek, Amorim SA managing director Joaquim Sá said this year’s competition was held in the most extraordinary times imaginable due to the national lockdown South Africa experienced as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic.

“But for us as organisers, the country’s Cap Classique producers and the judging panel it was a case of ‘the show must go on’ I would like to thank everybody involved for going that extra mile – especially the Cap Classique producers who sent 121 wines for judging at a time when their focus was rudely redirected by the challenges of Covid-19 and its effect on the wine industry.

  • The Double Gold (93pts-plus) winners in the year’s Amorim Cap Classique Challenge were:

Blanc de Blancs

Newstead MCC Blanc de Blancs 2015 (Trophy and Overall Winner)

Babylonstoren Sprankel 2015

Bon Courage Jacques Bruére 2011

Graham Beck Blanc de Blancs 2015

Paul René MCC Brut Chardonnay 2016

Brut Blends

Klein Roosboom Marné MCC Brut (n/v)  (Trophy)

Lord’s Wines MCC Brut (n/v)

Museum Class

Lourensford Cuvée 101 2010 (Trophy)

Domaine des Dieux Claudia Brut MCC 2009

  • The winners of Gold Medals (90pts – 92.9pts)


L’Ormarins Brut Classique Rosé (n/v)   (Trophy)

Blanc de Blancs

Colmant Blanc de Blancs (n/v)

Boschendal Jean Le Long Prestige Cuvée Blanc de Blancs 2009

Louisvale MCC Brut (n/v)

Peter Falke MCC Noelina 2015


Graham Beck Bliss Nectar (n/v) (Trophy)

This year’s judges were Heidi Duminy (convenor), Cathy Marston (wine educator and writer), Penny Setti (sommelier) and winemakers Paul Gerber and Pierre de Klerk. Nathan Valentine from Villiera was the protégé judge.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s